90 hp Johnson 2 stroke RPM

What should I expect for RPM at WOT? It’s on a scout 172. The prop is a 14x19 and is currently turning 4500 at WOT. This seems on the low side to me, but since I just got the boat I’m not sure if its too much prop or maybe something else is going on. Thanks

Most 2 strokes that I’m familiar with should be propped to run between 5,500 and 6,000 with a medium size normal load. 4,500 is way too low. It either has too much pitch in the prop, or the engine isn’t right. 19" is a lot of pitch for that rig and HP. A 15 or 16 pitch will put you a lot closer to where it needs to be, assuming the engine isn’t the problem. Can you borrow a different prop to try? I think that is the problem.

Capt. Larry Teuton
Swamp Worshiper

4500-5500 full throttle operating range per operating guide. I have a 2004 and run WOT about 4500

17 MAVERICK HPX-V

What age, model, etc. Is your motor?

I have a '99 Johnson 90 (60 degree v4) and my wot is ~5300 all trimmed out. Boat is a 99 Sea Hunt 172. That’s all I got at the moment, don’t know what prop is on there but I can look this weekend, maybe tomorrow.

www.militaryappreciationday.org

You need a 17 pitch prop or either some cleaner water from a jack plate. I run 5200 RPM WOT with my 19 pitch, but I have a jack plate, and trim tabs to allow me to get maximum trim without the boat porpoising. That boat will run better with a lower pitch. Good luck.

“Wailord”
1979 17’ Montauk
90 Johnson

Wilderness Ride 115

ideally you will be at 5500rpms WOT trimmed up with average load.
is that rpm trimmed up or down
a 19 pitch should be about right for that boat and motor combo
if the motor is running correctly a 19 pitch prop turning 5500rpms with a 2:1 gear ratio (which is what the Johnson 90 2 stroke has) and 13% slip (normal) will be about 42 mph, and that’s about right for that set up
I would think you have a motor issue or its not trimmed properly

how fast are you going at WOT?

www.teamcharlestonmarine.com