Best tying materials for Clousers

I recently started tying flies, and was wondering what do y’all use for bucktail material for tying Clousers? I have been tying out of a kit I bought and it doesn’t have any bucktail materials, so I wanted to go ahead and buy the good stuff. I read that the synthetics can be better because they don’t absorb water, so they are easier to cast. And some synthetics have some flash to them too, eliminating need for a little flashabou.

Also how what style hooks do you like for streamers? I picked up streamer hooks that had a circle hook style on the end. I like I said I am new to tying, so I hope this isn’t as dumb as a question as who makes the best 8wt? I just thought I would ask some people with more experience so I could buy the right stuff the first time. I know it can be the little things that can make your day lot on the water a lot better. Thanks for advice

Ok first you already answered your own question… Bucktail is the proper material for clousers. Open the packages and inspect the bucktail to make sure its a good one. They come off of living animals so no one is exactly like the other.

Synthetics are fine when tying for toothy critters but don’t match the look of naturals in the water in my opinion.

As for hooks. You want something with a 2x shank, and I prefer a wide gap (Gamakatsu B10s) but a standard 2x hook will work well too (Gamakatsu SS15) Size is dependent on species and the size you want the fly to be. You can tie clousers from a sz. 8 to a sz. 8/0 if you want. I would steer clear of circle hooks personally. Fish are swiping hard at them and you will tend to miss alot of fish witha circle vs. a standard “J” hook.

Good luck…

Mad Mike

"to hell with insane… I’m OUTsane!!! "

This is just personal preference but, in this case I can’t add anything to what M.M. wrote.