Catching Eel: Johns Island/Charleston

Hello!!

I just moved from Maryland where I would catch eel out of the river near the the bay (American eel) using eel pots. I was wondering if anyone would be kind to share any spots / rivers near my location where I could try my luck. I use larger eels for sushi which I make and smaller eels for bait.

Will cook sushi for a eel spot! HAHA

Welcome to the forum. We need new blood here, especially ones that come from south of the Mason Dixon line. Here is what I think I know.

American eels live mostly in fresh water and in the fall come into the salt to breed, or so i have been told.

We used to catch them in some ponds on Raccoon Island and further up in the dawhoo on a regular basis.

Any river that touches the ocean will probably hold eels in SC.

Im no expert, but the guys that taught me about eels set their pots closer to the ocean in the fall and closer to the brackish/fresh water other times of the year.

We made our own pots and used wire mesh,panty hose, and zip ties to make them.

I had the best luck baiting them with big clam pieces and snouts.

if you are lucky barbawang will be along soon and give us all a proper eel lesson.

What part of MD? I caught one once on the eastern shore using small baitfish on hook & line.

Can you post a picture of your pots?

There was a bunch of eels way up in Goose Creek near the dam. I once pulled up a pot in the middle of pimlico rice field and it was full of big eels. I always wanted to smoke one after seeing that guy with the weir on the television.

1 Like

I’ve caught them on bait years ago in the Cooper, but I don’t know anything about them. Probably only 15 minutes from the Harbor, so very salty water still. Pretty sure it was in the colder months too if I remember correctly.