Crawl space insulation and sealing

What’ are your thoughts on the best way to insulate a crawl space. I’m skeptical that foaming in insulation and sealing my crawl space is the way to go. High initial cost, possible need for dehumidifier, potential for serious damage with flooding. Lots of different thoughts on what’s best but would like to hear from locals living in a flood zone.

Any which way you go, whether foam or plastic, the need for dehumidification or conditioning will be essential once sealed. If you go with the foam route, talk with your pest/termite control people and insurance to make sure you don’t void your coverage. Good luck.

Fishing Nerd

“skilled labor isn’t cheap, cheap labor isn’t skilled”

My neighbor had his crawlspace encapsulated. It looks fantastic and stays at a constant temperature year round. Not sure what it cost but it dang sure wasn’t cheap.

“Apathy is the Glove into Which Evil Slips It’s Hand”, but really, who cares?

I’m a crawlspace contractor and would be happy to answer any questions you may have. Give me a ring at 843-323-6976

or just insulate R-19 in the joists and put down a good vapor barrier and open the crawl space vents

Pioneer 197SF

I did a bunch or digging around on this topic. There are a lot of different thoughts/methods and many articles to read through.
All said and done…
IMHO, crawlspace encapsulation is for new construction. The home should be designed around it.

Again, IMHO, a good vapor barrier and open vents is the best way to handle existing homes. If you have standing water, look at perimeter drains and a sump.
More important is getting water away from the house. My last home I installed gutters and dug 150ft of drain pipe to pull all the down spout water away from the foundation.