Getting my son started on saving for retirement

Thanks in advance for any advice on this.

My son is in college and working part time. With that said, I would like to get him started on investing for his future.

Is a Roth the best way to get started?

Wife and I will make a little deposit to get it started and he will put a small amount in each paycheck.

Thanks again,

NN

07, 23 Key West, Twin 115 Yammys

“Coastal Bound”

www.joinrfa.org/

That is what I would do in this case.I do this for a living and almost never get this question.

I agree a Roth is probably best from all I’ve read. I opened a Coverdell account for my kid as soon as we got his SSN from the state. He’s got a decent savings account now at age 6, and I would like to check on further investments for him. However, I don’t think a minor can possess a Roth. I gotta dig deeper.

You’re a good parent. Your child will appreciate it!

‘14 Key West 203FS w/ Yamaha F150
"Kiss my ass, I bought a boat; I’m goin’ out to sea." (Jimmy Buffett covering Lovett)

Dear Double…A Roth IRA is a good choice of accounts. Bear in mind that the account is merely a basket designed to hold investments, and not an investment itself. The Roth IRA(Individual Retirement Account)allows for investment growth without taxation based on short or long term capital gains, or interest and dividend income that accrues from investments. This enhances the compounding of growth. Money invested within a Roth IRA must be held in the account for a minimum of 5 years AND until age 59 1/2 to avoid income taxes on the accrued gains. Money contributed to Roth IRA can be withdrawn at any time without income taxation, but growth will be taxed if it fails to meet both holding requirements as stated above. Your son should take a few elective courses in finance to gain the basic understanding of asset classes, capital markets, and modern portfolio theory and risk management. Time is on his side. You have great parental instincts.

Sol Mate
Mako 20B