Inshore Charter Advice/Artificial Advice

This is my 5th year in Charleston and only my 2nd year fishing from a boat here (16ft flats). I consistently catch a few reds (1-6 on average) on every trip and the occasional trout or flounder. However, it’s always on live bait and rarely to never on artificial. I’m interested in learning from some of the seasoned fishing vets here on how to target reds and trout and how to work artificial more effectively. I’m interested in trying to find where fish should be based on tide, structure, etc. rather than fishing the same old spots you see 50 guys anchored up on every day. I’m a serious angler who goes out at least twice a week exploring new spots. While I have completed my military service now as a combat veteran I would like to start learning these waters so that in the next few years I could enter some tournaments and in 5 years or so I could be an effective inshore fishing charter captain myself.

While I would go broke trying to do 4 hours charters through many of the captains here; I am humbly asking for a cheaper option if there is one available. Obviously, I would pick up the gas, drinks, etc.

Put your time in, don’t depend on other anglers. It’ll all be worth it in the end.

>=<((((o>
17 Maverick HPX

The East Cooper Fishing Club meeting is tonight at 7pm at the Omar Shriners place at Patriots Point.

Every month we have guest speskers do just what you are asking.

Check out ecfc or the other clubs in the area. You might even make a friend or dozen.

“I am constantly amazed at the stupidity of the general public.”
~my dad

Equipment:
190cc Sea Pro w/130 Johnson
1- 20 year old (boy of leisure)
1 - 17 year old (fishing maniac)
1 - wife (The Warden)

ECFC