need pro tips from painters

My wife smoked in this house for 19 years. What are some ways to clean up this place and get ready for paint? I knw bleach and warm water works pretty good but was wondering what else I could use.

16’ Bonito 65 Johnson

I am not a pro but my parents smoked for years. We did a good coat of kilz primer & then paint over that. You will need to prime/paint ceilings as well to cover the smell.

My dad smoked for all my life. When he passed in '12 his '97 Silverado REEKED. I found an air freshener product at a carwash that said it would consume the smoke smell. The product smelled like butt itself and you could not stay in the vehicle (similar to how a bug bomb is set off), but when it was all done it really did consume most of the smell. A second can finished the job to the point that my wife who detests the smell more than I do doesn’t notice it any longer.
I cannot remember the exact name of the stuff, but it was a blue/white can “outzit or ouzit” something like that. Check your local auto store they probably have it. Maybe 2-3 cans per room might help reduce the smell a lot. A good professional cleaning of the carpet and any upholstery too. These two things, and coat of kilz and fresh paint did wonders in her house.

Here are some other suggestions
https://macgyverisms.wonderhowto.com/how-to/8-easy-ways-remove-cigarette-smoke-smells-from-your-car-0168367/

You gonna talk or FISH!

quote:
Originally posted by Tryin_2_FISHMORE

My dad smoked for all my life. When he passed in '12 his '97 Silverado REEKED. I found an air freshener product at a carwash that said it would consume the smoke smell. The product smelled like butt itself and you could not stay in the vehicle (similar to how a bug bomb is set off), but when it was all done it really did consume most of the smell. A second can finished the job to the point that my wife who detests the smell more than I do doesn’t notice it any longer.