New To Kayaks- Advice

Looking to purchase my first kayak. Will be fishing the Folly River and surrounding creeks most of the time. Kayak’s purpose will be primarily fishing. Am looking at the Wilderness Systems Tarpon 120 and Ride 115. Any info on these two models and which is better for what I am looking for? Would the longer length Tarpon or Ride 135 make any difference? Any other kayaks out there you would strongly recommend over these two? Also I am a beginner kayaker so take that into account. Thanks for any help.

The Ride 115 is a good small water boat. It’s super stable, but it’s also the SLOWEST boat in our fishing fleet. I like speed and longer hulls = faster boats. I paddle the Tarpon 160, Commander 140, and Ride 135.

Each one has subtle differences. A lof of folks are scared of the T160 and think it’s tippy. Spend some time getting to know the longer boat and developing your paddling skills and you never want to sit in a small boat again.

Go see Dave at Time Out and talk about the different models. I’m a Wildy guy, so I’ll answer any of your questions about our boats and leave the other manufacturers to the other guys.

Who’s Ready for a Sleigh Ride? www.KayakFishSC.com

So Ride 135 over the Ride 115. How would the Ride 135 compare to the Tarpon 120 for the Folly River. Which one of those two would you prefer? Since I am a beginner I thing the Tarpon 160 etc. would be too much boat for me.

I test-paddled a 115 and a 135. Went into it wanting the 115 but after paddling both, went with the 135. The 135 took less effort to paddle and tracked far better than the 115. The 135 is super stable and has a lot of room. The Tarpon is faster but a little less stable and has a smaller weight capacity. The Ride also has an option for a higher seat which I have not tried out but looks appealing.

“Apathy is the Glove in Which Evil Slips It’s Hand”.