newbie advice

What rod /reel combo would be a good starter for reds and trout from a kayak. Ive probably fished fly 10 times for browns, rainbow, bones, snook, small tarpon and permit in mexico and colorado. Im thinking of around $500 all in to give it a shot. I fish inshore primarily out of a kayak which I can easily stand. Maybe an 8 or 9 weight , 9 ft , stainless rig with medium action.Im not that good at casting the fly but willing to learn.Thanks

Tri: If you still have the setup that you used for bones and snook, you should be fine with reds. I use an 8 wt Sage and a 9 wt Thomas &Thomas. The wind determines which rod I will cast. The 9 punches through the wind with more authority. Don’t know much about reels as I haven’t bought one in many years. Mine are decades old, but they still do the job. Check out TFO, they have a great reputation. https://www.yellowstoneangler.com/gear-review/2016-8-weight-shootout-best-saltwater-■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■-aetos-orvis-recon-tfo-bvk-tfo-impact-echo-base-beaulah-opal-winston-biii-plus-mystic-reaper

oc

Thanks. Im on kayak in the creeks alot so I went with a shorter 8 weight rod at 7"10 and a super light Redington reel. Nice little setup and easy for me to throw from the Yak.Headed out tomorrow if the weather cooperates!

A Behemoth/Predator combo would get you that Price Range with a nice line, but I would recommend casting a few rods before you make your decision. If you’re not going to cast anything before you purchase a combo I would tell you to save some money and purchase the Redington Path Combo at $189.

Simon O

HADDRELL’S POINT TACKLE & SUPPLY
Your Complete Sportfishing Center
www.haddrellspoint.com
www.facebook.com/Haddrells.Point

have a nice setup in the classified section, Orvis Helios 2 with Orvis IV reel 8WT…