Rules for wading

Can anyone enlighten me on the rules for wading a privately owned piece of marsh? I assume I need the landowners permission? What if I’m poling my skiff? Thanks.

Ok then. When I find out I’ll post it on here.

I think that there is very little privately-owned marsh out there (in SC, at least). There are a small handful of them due to something like a “King’s Grant” or something along those lines. I’m far from an expert, but I think most people’s property starts at the high tide line at the very most.

I can tell you that I’ve never worried about wading any stretch of marsh. Just be respectful, don’t tie up to a private dock or anything, and try to leave it better than you found it. If someone tries to tell you they own the marsh, I would be skeptical of that claim (though it’s not impossible, just unlikely).

Please do post up what you find though, it’s interesting.

1994 Hewes Redfisher 18
Conchfish 178 build in progress…

I was told if your in the water your not on anyone’s property. The below the tide line thing is iffy because I’ve been told that by some but have had others be a D about it. I make my own judgement call based on the place and be respectful of others property. The fresh water areas are different some areas have crazy rules specific to that area.

If you are walking a flooded grass flat IN the water you should be good, property lines go to the high tide line. The kings grants I have heard of are down by Kiawah those they do own the mars to the low tide mark.

On a boat, you are on the water, NO ONE owns the water so as long as you are floating you are good to go. Some people will give you hell, most times I just move on, its usually not worth the hassle or waste of breath.

“Paddle faster boys… I hear banjo music!”
www.lowcountryflyshop.com
www.theredfishchronicles.com

quote:
Originally posted by nikonjedi