"SC Lionfish Diet" Master's Thesis

Hello everyone!

I’m a student in the Graduate Program in Marine Biology at the College of Charleston, and I’m studying the diet of invasive lionfish in SC waters. Any help you all could provide - from letting me know about where you’re seeing them to giving me the stomachs of any you may catch (feel free to keep the meat - they have a white, flaky flesh similar to black sea bass - tasty!) - would be greatly appreciated!

We already know that lionfish pose a threat to local game fish species by competing for food, but I’m also trying to figure out if lionfish are actually eating juveniles of important game fish species, too. And many of these important game fishes are overfished as adults, so if we’re short on reproductive adults AND losing babies before they can become reproductive (either through direct consumption or via starvation due to competition), we’ll have a real crisis on our hands.

So let’s see if we can get rid of these buggers! Please feel free to email me (smdoty@g.cofc.edu)!

Thanks for any and all help! :smiley:
~Sarah

very cool study…wish you the best…be careful and hopefully you get some good ■■■■■■■■ from the members of this forum…

The Morris Island Lighthouse www.savethelight.org

Email sent.

just curious…
how do you know that many of the “gamefish” are locally overfished as adults? Is your thesis based on local interaction or is this a broader scope encompassing the south atlantic blight region as a whole?

Is it possible that assumption is just as unproven as your hypothesis regarding prey-predator interaction between lionfish and juvie fish?

Also, many of our “gamefish” don’t go through their juvenile stages off our coast. MARMAP has a lot of data supporting this conclusion, and I personally have a small data set from fishing offshore and talking with folks who fish elsewhere that also support that conclusion.