Sheepshead bait

I live in the upstate area of South Carolina on Lake Secession in Abbeville County. I am very new to saltwater fishing and planning to come to Charleston this month to try my luck on Sheepshead. Lake Secession has freshwater mussels and freshwater clams,I’m wondering if they’d make good bait for Sheepshead. Anybody ever tried them or think they’d work for Sheepshead bait?

Charles Campbell

Don’t know about freshwater baits, but I prefer oysters. Bring a knife and a container with a lid. Shuck out a bunch and go at it. Just be sure to harvest your oysters on public grounds.

-The size of a fish is directly proportional to the time between when it’s lost and the story is told. - Me
-What’s the best eating fish, you ask? I’ve found that for a lot people, its the ones that they happen to be able to catch, clean, and cook. - My Dad (1/13/37 - 9/27/16 I love you Pops)
-Until you have loved a dog, part of your soul remains unawakened. Anatole France (paraphrased)
-RIP my “Puppy Dog” 10/15/2004 - 1/14/2013. I’ll never forget him. What a special friend he was.
-Team Gonna Fish

What Bow said^^^^^ I use the mossy bait wraps when using oysters , can catch several sheep on one bait most of the time…

George McDonald
US Navy Seabees,Retired,
MAD, Charleston Chapter
[http://www.militaryappreciationday.org

When you see “Old Glory” waving in the breeze, know that it is the dying breaths of our fallen hero’s that makes it wave.
author unknown

George McDonald I see you are a retired US Navy Seabee. I’m also a retired US Navy Seabee Reservist. How about canned oysters, ever tried those for Sheepshead bait?

Charles Campbell

quote:
Originally posted by Cambo

George McDonald I see you are a retired US Navy Seabee. I’m also a retired US Navy Seabee Reservist. How about canned oysters, ever tried those for Sheepshead bait?

Charles Campbell