Slaughter House question

Anyone know of a local source to process a Steer? My go to in Varnville has retired do to health issues, i heard Winningham quit doing cows, and Cordray’s won’t take a cow until January.

Did you try Rishers, or Cravens on Nunnaville Rd.
There’s also a procceser in Grover.
Or Marvin’s in Hollywood (if they are still there)

Double D.

Thanks Double D, but they only due deer processing and I found Marvin’s on line, but unfortunately they said he retired after 50 years. Dang Government put so many regulations on anyone slaughtering a cow, it put most out of business. We’ll do hogs and such, but a cow is just more than I want to tackle. And I want it aged a minimum of 14 days.

Man that was always a big event every fall when I was a kid. We would kill 3 or 4 cows and 3 or 4 hogs. A bunch of chickens and rabbits also. All my uncles and their families would show up. My Uncle Richard was a butcher by trade. I was always the one that got stuck cranking the meat grinder. I still have it and use it to grind up charm/Manhattan. That was always such a good time. Mom would clear out the freezers. her and my aunt’s would cook us up a feast. A 3-day event. Me and my cousins would get to lay out of school on Friday.
I can still see very clearly in my mind the big roll of white butcher paper clamp to the end of the kitchen table. My mom pulling it out across the table and wrapping up meat. Dang where did the time go. My parents and all but one aunt and uncle are long gone.