striper fishing advice

I’ve never been striper fishing until last sunday. I got bored because I couldn’t locate any crappie, so I rigged up a couple of rods with plastics and spoons. I chased the gulls and fished the edges of what I thought were schools. I only managed an 18 incher and my buddy caught a 15 incher.

I was wondering if anyone can give me advice on how to properly target this fish? This will be a learning experience and I can use any help I can get. Any advice is appreciated.

“They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety.”

-Benjamin Franklin

Malibu Stealth 12
2008 Carolina Skiff JVX16/ Yamaha F60

I’m new to fishing for them in freshwater lakes, but have spent many years chasing them in tidal waters. I moved to SC back in July from MD. I fished the Chesapeake Bay & tribs for close to 45 years & with all kinds of tackle including fly fishing.

Sounds to me like you have the right idea. Find the schools of baitfish & you stand a good chance of finding Stripers. Watching the birds is a good way to locate both. If you have the electronics, then you need to learn to identify what Striped bass look like on your screen. I fished with only a depth finder & that worked fine, but I had a pretty good idea of where to look. Then it took trying different things to see if I could catch them. I don’t know of any type of lure they won’t take, but usually if you toss something that is close to the size & profile of what they’re eating, then you’ll catch them. Stripers do tend to run in groups of fish about the same size, although when they’re busting schools of bait, there may be bigger fish below the smaller ones. The trick is getting your offering down to them without it being taken by the smaller fish.