Trailer Tire Size Question.

I have a small trailer I am converting into a kayak trailer and will be hauling some yaks to the Keys this Summer. It currently has 4.80-8" rims/tires on it. I am planning on putting new hubs/bearings as well as new rims/tires. Should I just stick with the size currently on it or should I try to go to a 10 or 12" rim/tire?

Thanks

completely off of your topic, but I am planning a trip to the keys as well - are you getting your trailer registered? FL law requires trailer registration and as I read it is for all in state and out of state trailers so I think I am going to get it done. Mainly because I don’t want to get pulled over with the kids in the car on a 13-14 hour car ride. Where are you thinking of going?

Sabalo 21 150 Yamaha

Key West Stealth 150 V-max (SOLD)

I have been dragging a boat down there for nearly 10 years and have never registered my trailer. Any cop worth a dang should either be aware that not all states require registration or when told should be smart enough to confirm that. Kind of like SC not requiring an inspection and sticker.

We usually stay in around Islamorada because it has everything we want/need but, this year we’re taking our son down to Boy Scout camp on Summerland Key so we’re staying down in that area. It will be a new experience for us as we’ve never stayed that far south. Not taking the boat for the first time ever, taking kayaks so hoping to do some yak fishing and some leisure paddling.

“Apathy is the Glove into Which Evil Slips It’s Hand”, but really, who cares?

Tire size is fine. The length of the tongue is the thing I look at. How is the load going to be centered. Clearance to the vehicle is something else to look at.

There really won’t be much load, 3 kayaks, maybe totaling 250-300 lbs with gear (if that. Just thinking bigger radius tires may be better at highway speeds.