What size leader?

short version: what size leader are you using for oyster ridden creeks at low tide?

long version: fortunate enough to live on a creek that holds big (upper 20s-low 30s) reds. It’s narrow and there are a lot of oysters. When these big fish are coming through, there’s barely enough water (10-15" at the deepest) to cover the oysters. Smaller reds are aren’t problem for lighter leaders as i can steer them away. But this morning, i had a big hookup and even with the drag cranked all the way down I was just along for the ride. Eventually he broke off where the leader was cut. It’s happened a few times, and I know it’s not entirely avoidable, but trying to minimize it. So what brand/size leader are you guys using for these scenarios?

While I’m by no means an expert on fishing for bigger (Bull) Redfish, I have caught a few, over the years.

In my opinion, you might want to change your tactics, as, I’m not sure even a 100# leader will hold a Bull Red, ripping across an Oyster bank, in 10-15 inches of water?

You might try catching them staging in the mouth of the creek, at varying tide cycles?

I’ll add that, Most of the bigger (Bull) Red’s I’ve caught, were by-catch, while fishing for Bonnethead’s. Using a quartered Blue Crab, on a Carolina Rig, with a wire leader. You might give the wire leader a try?

At any rate, welcome back to the site, and by all means, keep us posted on your progress, and fishing adventures!!

2 Likes

I would use 20-25# leader, and a long rod (7’+)…hold it up high when the fish is near the oysters…not full proof but you’ll have a decent chance to survive the runs in the oysters. Too heavy of a leader and you won’t get the bite to begin with, and the few that bite will cut you off just the same if the leader gets in the oysters. Good luck, you’ve got a great problem to have ; )

2 Likes