198 Carolina Skiff offshore

I know this is a stupid question. I’m looking at a 2014 Carolina skiff 198 with 115 merc. Wanting to fish a little offshore I have a lot of boat experience and offshore. I know it’s not ideal but just wondering if anyone knows how the new skiffs ride and know what kind of water they can handle.

You would need a super calm day and Tidal Rails.

There is a fellow who brings his carolina skiff to the edisto 60 sometimes. He travels slow and steady, but when he gets there he fishes with the rest of us. We pass him on the way there, and we pass him on the way back. You’re going to take a long time, and you’re probably going to get wet. It’s not the optimal boat for the job.

It’s half weather, and half skill/personal comfort. If it were my boat, I would do it.

Mouth of the jetties up to a couple miles out gets sketchy on the best of days. Also, going by a container ship at the tip of the jetties would really suck too. Be careful.

Mike Martinez

“Team Hookers Dream”

2016 Sea Hunt 25 Gamefish twin Yamaha 150’s “Wet Dream”

1994 Ken Craft 175CC 1998 Yamaha 115 “Dream Machine”

Probably would ride like a chuck wagon in any kind of wind more than light and variable

quote:
Originally posted by creekmonkey

Wanting to fish a little offshore I have a lot of boat experience and offshore. I know it’s not ideal but just wondering if anyone knows how the new skiffs ride and know what kind of water they can handle.

Your first statement contradicts your second…

I’ve fished offshore with a lot of people, ran their boat offshore. I’m now looking to get my own! Sorry about the contradiction! I own several boats just nothing big enough to fish offshore.

I’ll sell you a Sea hunt.

Mike Martinez

“Team Hookers Dream”