The 9 yard rule infraction is false as well. You just have to be lined up between the hashes when the whistle is blown, then you can go outside. That’s why you see so many teams huddle together between the numbers until the ball is spotted, then they run out to their positions.
Edit: Looking at the picture Shevy posted, it looks like they were lined up already before the ref placed the ball. If they would have moved in, then back out after the spot, then it wouldn’t be illegal.
However, they would have thrown the flag before the kick for illegal formation. They missed that call as well, and called a phantom off sides penalty. Lots of mistakes in this one. Time to stop splitting hairs and move on to the playoffs.
“Wailord”
1979 17’ Montauk
90 Johnson
Wilderness Ride 115
It is not an infraction until he kicks the ball, thus flag as soon as he kicked it. That is my story anyway!
NCAA rulebook Rule 6, article 2, section c, part 5 states: “All players of Team A must have been between the nine-yard marks after the ready-for-play signal [S19]”. Two players on the far end and one on the near are outside the 9 yard mark both before the ready for play and at the kick. A video from ready to kick all the way to kick would verify, but the official was heard saying he could have called it on multiple people. Sorry Coot Fans…!
Arizona’s AD is working damage control to their fan base. Rich Rod was NEVER offered the job at The University of South Carolina. Rich Rods agent is probably working Arizona for more money. It happens every year at this time.
’
Down here is where a signature goes but they can confuse and anger some people so I don’t have one.
So you are saying that a player can’t line up near the sideline for a kick off?
“Wailord”
1979 17’ Montauk
90 Johnson
Wilderness Ride 115
What I’m saying is exactly what it says in Rule 5 of the section I posted. It is not very hard to understand. I put it here so you wouldn’t have to go back and look for or just look up and read the caption.
5. All players of Team A must have been between the nine-yard marks after the ready-for-play signal [S19].</font id=“red”>
Not trying to argue the rule book as I don’t read them, nor want to try and interpret their intent.
My question is, if the rule states that, then how can you have players on other kick offs lined up on the side and running down field. See it all the time. My point is, all this pointing to the various rules that weren’t called doesn’t matter. The refs clearly state that they saw a guy break the plain, and called off-sides.
Yes, they missed a targeting call, yes they potentially missed a formation call, but they no doubt made a call for off sides by breaking the plain before the kick.
What you could argue is that the view straight down the 35 line could show #30 breaking just before. We don’t have any angle of a straight line view of this, so the only person who saw it was the ref and anyone else on the 35 yard line who was looking for it. i would guess this is why it isn’t review-able because you would have to have a camera at that angle. Like they do at the goal line for showing when it breaks the plain.
Arizona’s AD is working damage control to their fan base. Rich Rod was NEVER offered the job at The University of South Carolina. Rich Rods agent is probably working Arizona for more money. It happens every year at this time.
’
Down here is where a signature goes but they can confuse and anger some people so I don’t have one.
Not trying to argue the rule book as I don’t read them, nor want to try and interpret their intent.
My question is, if the rule states that, then how can you have players on other kick offs lined up on the side and running down field. See it all the time. My point is, all this pointing to the various rules that weren’t called doesn’t matter. The refs clearly state that they saw a guy break the plain, and called off-sides.
Yes, they missed a targeting call, yes they potentially missed a formation call, but they no doubt made a call for off sides by breaking the plain before the kick.
What you could argue is that the view straight down the 35 line could show #30 breaking just before. We don’t have any angle of a straight line view of this, so the only person who saw it was the ref and anyone else on the 35 yard line who was looking for it. i would guess this is why it isn’t review-able because you would have to have a camera at that angle. Like they do at the goal line for showing when it breaks the plain.
“Wailord”
1979 17’ Montauk
90 Johnson
Wilderness Ride 115
Just discussion. I don’t take it as arguing. When did an official clearly state that he saw a guy break the line? I may have missed something. Breaking the 9 yard rule is stated as “offsides” technically.
The players only have to be inside that 9 yard mark when the official gives the ready whistle. I went back and looked at different kickoffs and all i watched were inside that mark at the ready and them sometimes the end player would move closer to the sideline right before the kick. I don;t know how you can say you see it all of the time. Did you ever think about the 9 yard hash before this? Probably not and like the rest of us probably never paid attention to where players were at the
There is an official statement from the ACC somewhere.
I see them huddle/gather between the hashes when the ball is placed usually, and then they go to their spot. Whether this was outside the hash or not. Just always thought it had something to do with not lining up before the whistle is blown, but no, I didn’t know about the 9 yard rule until now.
“Offsides is not a reviewable play,” said the spokesperson. “Dennis Hennigan [ACC director of officiating] said that mechanically the officials were in the correct position. The rule as it relates to to an onside kick that the 35-yard line is treated as a plane and if any part of a player breaks that plane before the ball is kicked it’s offsides. The officials saw a member of the kicking team break the plane before the ball was kicked.”
Arizona’s AD is working damage control to their fan base. Rich Rod was NEVER offered the job at The University of South Carolina. Rich Rods agent is probably working Arizona for more money. It happens every year at this time.
’
Down here is where a signature goes but they can confuse and anger some people so I don’t have one.
Proof?
“Kleenex, The Official Sponsor of Fishb8”
Common Sense? Also there is a tweet floating around where Tanner says Rich rod turning the job down was inaccurate. Then again I read it on the internet just like people are reading he turned the job down so take it for what you want.
’
Down here is where a signature goes but they can confuse and anger some people so I don’t have one.