Question for Edisto Locals and blue crabs

We live in Summerville and vacation at Edisto every year. We didnt do quite as good crabbing this year (July 4th week) There werent really any crabs out front on the sound end but I was able to get some in the crab pot by the creek near the serpentarium. I have heard thatcrabs move up the creeks/into the ocean according to the salinity of the water.

My question is does anyone know if the crabs have been out front or way up the creeks? We are coming down Saturday morning and I am just trying to put a gameplan together.

My other option would be to try and run over to Otter Island but I have a 14ft Mckee and three small kids and not too sure how that trip would be. Of course the weather would have to be cooperative too.

I would greatly appreciate any advice or recent experiences you may have to offer or share!

I’m no experts on where the crabs are at certain times of the year; however I can tell you when fishing, I see crabpots all over the place in creeks, places that are even brackish in nature so obviously they are everywhere.

You shouldn’t have any problem getting to otter from the marina, just venture out bay creek and follow the beach until you see the water tower and then line yourself up with fish creek and the water tower and you should be fine. If it is lowtide be careful if you dont’ know where you are going becuase there are some shallow spots and you have no idea unless you are familiar.

I see a lot of folks crabbing at what I call the point which is the end of the beach and where big bay creek starts, so you may want to try over there.

good luck!

Taking a 14’ boat to Otter this weekend may prove to be difficult. When the hurricane passes by it will give us some good size swells. However if the weather is good; what Baycreek said.