Slow No Wake

Having grown up on James Island I have been using the Wappoo Cut boat landing for well over 30 years. At one time this landing was nothing more than a dirt parking lot with a partially paved ramp and gravel that went out into the river a little ways and just dropped off. Thanks to money raised through the Saltwater Fishing License the Charleston County Parks have made great improvements to this landing and it is now one of the best public landings in the state. With three launching lanes, two floating docks, a no wake zone, and an asphalt paved parking lot the facility has come a long way; however, with the sheer number of folks using the landing mishaps and antics still abound. I have often said if you are bored on Sunday afternoon and are in need of a good laugh, go grab a bucket of chicken and sit at the picnic table at Wappoo Cut and enjoy the entertainment. Granted some mishaps are unforeseeable and cannot be prevented, but the majority are caused by either pure stupidity or many times lack of consideration by others.